Michael A. McRobbieMichael A. McRobbie
Australian Academy of Humanities

Michael A. McRobbie became the 18th president of Indiana University on July 1, 2007. IU is one of the largest university systems in the U.S. with eight campuses, a total budget of around US $3 billion, and over 6,000 faculty, 11,000 staff, and 110,000 students.

He was appointed Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer in 1997, and in addition was appointed Vice President for Research in 2003, and Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs for IU's Bloomington campus in 2006.

He holds faculty appointments in computer science, philosophy, cognitive science, informatics, library & information science, and computer technology, and has been an active researcher in information technology and logic over his career. He has been the principal investigator on many major grants, has published a number of books, many articles, and has served on numerous editorial boards and conference committees.

As president, McRobbie has refocused IU on its six Principles of Excellence: an excellent education, world-class research and scholarship, an outstanding faculty, enhanced international engagement, excellence in health sciences and in engagement." Supporting these core principles is an essential framework of excellence in the four areas of advancement, infrastructure and facilities, information technology, and administration.

Under his leadership IU has seen a major expansion in the size and quality of IU's student body, a record level of expenditure, a billion dollar expansion of IU's facilities, and the completion of $1.1 billion endowment campaign at IU Bloomington, the first phase of a $5 billion campaign to be completed in IU's bicentenary year of 2020.

He serves on many committees, and is presently the chair of the Big 10 Athletic Conference, the vice-chair and incoming chair of Internet2, the chair of University Research Associates, which is responsible for Fermi Lab, and a member of the National Security Higher Education Advisory Board. He is also the member of a number of private boards including the Indiana University Health system, one of the largest hospital systems in the U.S., the OneAmerica insurance company, and the Indianapolis Symphony.

He received a PhD from the Australian National University in 1979, and has honorary doctorates from the University of Queensland (2007), Sung Kyun Kwan University in Korea (2008), the Australia National University (2010) and the South East European University in Macedonia (2011), which IU helped found.

He was recently elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is an honorary fellow of the Australian Academy of Humanities. In 2007, he was made a Sagamore of the Wabash, the highest honor the State of Indiana can bestow. And in 2010 he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia, Australia's national honors system.