Indiana University has a long tradition of outstanding scholars, teachers, and researchers. A portion of these have been recognized by conferral of official titles, including distinguished professorships, titled and endowed chairs, and university professorships; collectively these professors are known as distinguished and titled professors. All such professors are invited to join the Alliance of Distinguished and Titled Professors. The Alliance and its members will serve Indiana by working to preserve and enhance Indiana University’s excellence in research, teaching, and service.


The Alliance would like to welcome its newest members who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to academic excellence at Indiana University.

  • Christopher Beckwith

    Distinguished Professor, Department of Central Eurasian Studies
  • Yves Brun

    Distinguished Professor, Department of Biology; Clyde Culbertson Professor of Biology
  • Lynda F. Delph

    Distinguished Professor, Department of Biology
  • Tatiana Foroud

    Distinguished Professor, Department of Medical and Molecular Genetics; Joe C. Christian Professor of Medical and Molecular Genetics
  • Robert L. Goldstone

    Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences; Chancellor's Professor of Psychological and Brain Sciences
  • Randy Long

    Distinguished Professor, Department of Studio Art
  • Robin Newhouse

    Distinguished Professor, School of Nursing; Dean, School of Nursing
  • Anantha Shekhar

    Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychiatry; August M. Watanabe Professor of Medical Research
  • Andre Watts

    Distinguished Professor, Jacobs School of Music; Jack I. and Dora B. Hamlin Endowed Chair in Music

University Ceremonies

The Office of University Ceremonies participates in some of Indiana University's most treasured events including the Celebration of Distinguished Teaching. Learn More»

Excellence Newsletter

Volume 18 No.1: June 2015

Download the PDF»
Additional volumes»

Annual Dinner

Alliance Annual Dinner
October 10, 2017
Bloomington Campus
View photo gallery from 2016 dinner»